REGISTRATION CLOSED

ADD-ON WORKSHOPS

Get the most out of your virtual 2021 Government Social Media Conference experience by adding pre-conference workshops hosted by industry experts. Each workshop offers a deep dive into some of your most requested topics.

Online Workshops: Monday, March 22, 2021

Each workshop fee is $75 and may be purchased along with your GSMCON attendee ticket during registration.

This is a beginner level introductory training session geared towards social media professionals who are either new to government or familiar with government but new to managing social media. 

Topics Covered: What government social media managers should know about Facebook, Twitter and Nextdoor (including government-specific recommendations & features). Overview of government-focused social media issues including public records, FOIA, managing comments and a quick primer on policy.

In this in-depth demonstration, Kerry Shearer, "The Livestream Expert" and former Sacramento County PIO, will help you develop fast, effective video creation skills on your smartphone. Videos aren’t just used to spread information; videos can help you build trust, humanize your agency and create a stronger connection with your audience. Kerry will have insider examples, tips, techniques and tools you can use to help your agency shine by integrating frequent video updates into your social media plan.

Several legal issues involved with government use of social media will be covered in this workshop facilitated by Mark R. Weaver, a leading crisis communications advisor and attorney for public sector clients. Knowing how the First Amendment applies to your social media presence can protect you from a lawsuit, legal fees and damages. This lively workshop features practical tips in plain language about issues such as government forums, blocking users, deleting comments, viewpoint discrimination, employee use of social media and more.

Please note, there'll be a short break in the middle of each virtual session.

Don't forget to participate in the online GSMCON2021 welcome reception on Monday, March 22 as well (5-6pm PT | 6-7pm MT | 7-8pm CT | 8-9pm ET)

GOVERNMENT SOCIAL MEDIA LLC

245 E. Liberty Street, Ste. 230, Reno, NV 89501
Visitors by appointment only please.

1.888.803.9401
Email Us | PrivacyTerms

 

OUR BRANDS

Close

50% Complete

Two Step

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.